UNfashionable

Chocolate Cheeks and Beet Lips: Food for Face

Do you ever wonder what is in your makeup? It is amazing that we will quickly wipe off a smudge of chocolate syrup from our lips but smear dyes and chemicals all over our faces. tumblr_mfh6vcWGpO1qbebtno1_500

2239738Maybelline’s Super Stay 10-hour Stain Gloss has quite a list of ingredients :

Water, Hydrogenated Polydecene, Glycerin, Polybutene, Polyglyceryl-2 Triisostearate, Bis-Behenyl/Isostearyl/Phytosteryl Dimer Dilinoleyl Dimer Dilinoleate, Pentaerythrityl Tetraisostearate, Jojoba Wax Peg-120 Esters, Pentylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Peg-30 Glyceryl Stearate, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Potassium Sorbate, Caprylyl Glycol, Parfum / Fragrance, Aminomethyl Propanol, Limonene. May Contain: Mica, CI 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI 17200 / Red 33, CI 16035 / Red 40, CI 19140 / Yellow 5, CI 77499 / Iron Oxides, CI 45410 / Red 28, CI 42090 / Blue 1, CI 15985 / Yellow 6.

Well, I thought I’d try a more natural (…and yummier) approach to makeup today with two simple items: cocoa powder and beets.

1. Beet Lips: Have your lipstain and eat it too

IMG_5705

Look at these gorgeous yellow and red beets I bought from the Athens Farmers Market and roasted… NOM!

Beets are hands down my favorite root vegetable and give a killer kiss of color to my lips every time I eat them. Not only will beets stain your smoocher, but they will leave magenta marks on your fingers, cutting board and shirt.

IMG_5713

Gorgeous

There are tons of DIY recipes online about how to make your own beet lipstain or lip balm, but I am just too lazy and hungry to waste my precious beets on beauty, so I just eat ’em and let the juice stick to my lips.
IMG_5710IMG_5714

Beet-utiful! The olive oil I roasted them in was a lip-conditioning bonus.

2. Cocoa Powder Bronzer: Chocolate cheeks

IMG_5715I don’t know about you but having the sweet smell of chocolate on my face doesn’t bother me one bit and the color of cocoa matches my actual bronzer color.IMG_5716

IMG_5717

That moment when you realize you are becoming a brownie.

IMG_5725

Ta-da! All bronzed, beet-ed and ready to face the day… Well, actually ready to eat my delicious breakfast of beets and greens over pasta with Feta Cheese. This food is strictly for my belly.IMG_5693

I hope I don’t have a chunk of spinach in my teeth, but I am totally cool with having food on my face. I now leave you with more cute kids with chocolate on their faces 🙂

hersh50413422167578285_C_Detail20120214_111414_Chocolate_face_1

3246957625_63b3a7d9bb GigiChocolateFace

Have a delicious and beautiful day!

Unfashionably Yours,

❤ Anna

This entry was published on April 17, 2013 at 3:16 pm. It’s filed under Beauty? and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

